the mantra of your smile

 

i saw you first caught in a light

of soft and golden hue,

with snow dust falling in your hair,

i knew then what to do,

although it was hidden from me

i remember it

i hold it

i wrap my arms around it

to help me through

the past and present

the voices fade, the hurts grow dim,

god knows i gave a few,

when time it came to hold on tight

i gave it up, i flew

far, far away from thoughts of you

i remember it

i hold it

i wrap my arms around it

to help me through

the here and now

the means and scenes of deepest pain

have come and gone,

but still somehow they hold these hearts,

there is a bond,

a tender space where we once lived

i remember it

i hold it

i wrap my arms around it

to help me through

the rhyme we used to be

the long and empty disused spaces

of your life and mine,

these eyes within, and those without,

still read the signs

when I think of you and smile

i remember it

i hold it

i wrap my arms around it

to help me through

the sadness of that smile

 

copyright r.b.franklin 10/09/06

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

