Present Tense (Blessed Man)

 

 

I passed her along the way today,

The hair had changed, but the look was the same,

Come hither it said,

But don’t expect these eyes not to stray.

 

I passed her along the way today,

For the first time in many a thought unbeckoned,

Peering out within dim shallows

And shoals of promised ships long foundered.

 

I passed her along the way today,

An antidote for diseased and disused imaginings,

Discarded in the graying days now

Washed away in the wake from her passage.

 

I thought of you in the moments today,

Merging in seamless smiling succession,

A sign of past perfidy rendered

 Powerless in the face of all that you are.

 

I thought of you every moment today,

And in every yesterday’s yesterday,

Awakened, aware that now I am here,

Where I had never dreamt I could be.

 

You are my calm,

You are my bliss,

You are my sweet surrender.

I am the lucky man

Of which the song spoke,

Though my tense is in the now.

 

I am blessed.  

 

 

Copyright r.b.franklin 17/05/07

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

