The Way (To You)

 

 

Wandering thru’ the lonely days,

That’s what I used to do,

Drifting thru’ the night time rain,

Searching for someone just like you

 

Wandering thru’ the wasted years,

That’s what I used to do,

Swallowing many hidden tears,

Praying for someone just like you

 

***

 

Just wandering and wondering,

That’s what I called that tune,

Just wandering and wondering

If I would make it through,

The lonely days and wasted years

To find someone like you

 

***

 

Wondering why it eluded me,

This concept they label love,

Years ago they called it free,

An obscure and far away dove

 

Wondering where this life went wrong,

What turn, what path, what bend?

That left me playing lonely songs

With no lover to befriend

 

***

 

Just wandering and wondering,

That’s what I called that tune,

Just wandering and wondering

If I would make it through,

The lonely days and wasted years

To find someone like you

 

***

 

But wandering led me to you,

And that was not a waste,

For wondering about the blues

Means sadness now will terminate

 

And nevermore will I be wondering

What this solitary road may bring,

For from your side there’ll be no wandering

As together a sweet old song we’ll sing

 

***

 

Just wandering and wondering,

That’s what I called that tune,

Just wandering and wondering

If I would make it through,

The lonely days and wasted years

To find someone like you

 

Just wandering and wondering,

That’s what I called that tune,

Just wandering and wondering

If I would make it through

To all the days and years ahead

In company with one like you

 

 

Copyright r.b.franklin 10/08/07

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

